Board of Directors

The composition and structure of the NOSP Board of Directors are defined by the Bylaws and Board Policies of the agency, and allow for representation from each of NOSP’s main communities. To ensure representation and a voice from the different areas and groups of the expansive NOSP Service Area, the NOSP Board optimizes on the access and use of technology to conduct business.

The NOSP Board of Directors ensures there is district wide representation as well as a strong and diverse skill set.


Jocelyn Bourgoin, Chair


Bringing diverse experience and perspective from the health, community and municipal sectors, Jocelyn is currently the President and Chief Executive Officer of Santé Manitouwadge Health. Prior to this he held positions as a Director of Community Services at Manitouwadge General Hospital, Chief of EMS/Superior North EMS, Mayor of Manitouwadge, Education Trustee, and Ambulance Manager/Paramedic at Manitouwadge Ambulance Service. Jocelyn also currently holds the Chair position with the Northwest Health Alliance Board, and is a senator with Ontario Association of Paramedic Chiefs.

Photo of April Thornton

April Thornton, Vice-Chair

Kashak, Doug

Doug Kashak, Treasurer

Beardmore/Terrace Bay/Schreiber

Manager with the Children’s Aid Society for the District of Thunder Bay for the Nipigon and Geraldton area, Doug holds a HBSW in Social Work from Lakehead University and is highly involved in youth activities in the Nipigon area spending much of his spare time coaching Hockey, acting as the Vice President for the Nipigon Elks Hockey Association and facilitator of The Jump Start program.


Adam Brown, Immediate Past Chair


With a professional designation of Chartered Professional Accountant and Master of Health Administration, Adam is currently the Chief Executive Officer of the North of Superior Healthcare Group bringing experience and value from both a business and health care perspective.

Photo of Courtney Atkins

Courtney Atkins, Director


Photo of Terri Horan

Terri Horan, Director

no pic

Diane Laybourne, Director

Photo of Christopher Martin


Martin, Director

Interested in joining our board?

Joining NOSP Board of Directors, provides community stakeholders an opportunity to make a difference in district mental health and addiction services within your community.

As a board member of the district’s mental health and addiction service provider, you will have an opportunity to govern the organization and shape it’s future.

Some key points for consideration:

  • A board member is a volunteer position;
  • Board member terms are three years, with opportunity for two term renewals;
  • The NOSP board meets once monthly, from September to June, with an additional Annual General Meeting (AGM);
  • Board meetings average two hours per meeting and require between one to two hours of prep time per meeting, for an average time commitment of four hours per month;
  • Board meetings occur both virtually and in-person (mileage reimbursement for in-person meetings);
  • Board members must be at least 18 years of age; and
  • Board members must reside within the rural district of of Thunder Bay.

In order to fill existing vacancies,  while ensuring representation from across the District, we recruit for specific seats.  We do, however, encourage anyone from across the district to apply, particularly those individuals who are past service recipients of NOSP’s program and services and/or individuals who are French-speaking, identity as BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Colour) or are from the 2SLGBTQ community.

For more information, send your interest to